Upcoming Event

Journalism and Strategic Media Alumni Happy Hour
Thursday, July 13, 5:00 pm
The Bluff | 535 South Highland
Join fellow alumni for a networking event. Appetizers will be provided. Cash bar is available. For more information, contact wclark@memphis.edu or 901.678.4893.

Call for Nominations

Nominations will be accepted for the following categories:

Charles E. Thornton Award for Outstanding Alumni
Herbert Lee Williams Award for former or current faculty members
Young Alumni Award for alumni under the age of 40

Click here to download a nomination form

Deadline: June 10

The awards will be presented at the Outstanding Alumni Awards Dinner this fall.

For more information, contact wclark@memphis.edu or 901.678.4893.

Journalism Alumni Survey

We need your input!
The Journalism Alumni Chapter Board would like your input on how we can better meet the needs of our alumni. Please complete the short survey below.

Complete the Survey>>

Recent Event

Journalism Outstanding Alumni Awards Dinner
Thursday, October 13

honoring outstanding alumni and friends

Charles E. Thornton Awards
Frank Thorsberg (BA ’78), Data Recovery Specialist, DriveSavers Data Recovery
Elise Mitchell (MA ’92), CEO, Mitchell Communications Group

Herbert Lee Williams Award
Dr. David Arant, Chair of the Department of Journalism and Strategic Media, UofM

Outstanding Young Alumna Award
Megan Harris (BA ’11), Editor at 90.5 WESA, Pittsburgh’s NPR Station

Emerging Journalist Award
Jonathan Capriel, Current Journalism Student; Editor-in-Chief, The Daily Helmsman


For more information or to get involved in the Journalism and Strategic Media Alumni Club, contact Alumni Coordinator Willie Clark at wclark@memphis.edu or 901.678.4893.


Together, We Make Memphis Stronger